Pujols versus Clark

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
The fireworks are about to ignite between Jack Clark and Albert Pujols. For those involved with the accusations and who is suing who may need to find a safe place before it all explodes. As I explore this story and remain objective I find myself wanting to report this story the way I should as a baseball fan. Well it all first started when Jack Clark and Kevin Slaten join forces to host the drive time home on a St.Louis WGNU 920 AM radio station. One afternoon Jack Clark remarked on a conversation he had back in 2000 with then Pujol’s trainer Chris Mihlfield which spoke of Albert Pujol’s use of PEDs early on in his career. Chris Mihlfield also happens to be Jason Grimsley’s trainer that did finally come out to admit he took PEDs. Chris Mihlfield did come and said he did not say that at all, but soon after Albert Pujols came out with a statement, “I am currently in the process of taking legal action against Jack Clark and his employers at WGNU 920AM,” Pujols said in a statement released Friday. “I am going to send a message that you cannot act in a reckless manner, like they have, and get away with it. If I have to be the athlete to carry the torch and pave the way for other innocent players to see that you can do something about it, I am proud to be that person. I have five young children and I take being a role model very seriously. The last thing I want is for the fans, and especially the kids out there, to question my reputation and character.”
The Saturday after his statement both Jack Clark and Kevin Slaten was fired from WGNU. Jack Clark still stands by his claims about Pujols so much he decided to hire lawyer Chet Pleban. Jack Clark has recently added, “I stand by my previous remarks regarding Pujols and will rigorously defend any lawsuit that he chooses to file,” Jack Clark said in a news release. “Litigation is an intense fact-finding process and I welcome the opportunity for a jury of 12 unbiased people to judge the credibility of my comments.”  Looks like Clark won’t back down from Pujol’s lawsuit. With Pujols out for the rest of the season this may look like Albert’s project to stay busy. I don’t know where to stand or believe so as a reporter I will just sit in the stands and watch where all his will go.
 
reference: MLB/ESPN
 
Leave a Reply

