St. Louis Cardinals Hall of Fame Ceremony


ST. LOUIS, MO (August 13, 2014) – Jim Edmonds, Marty Marion, Willie McGee and Mike Shannon will be formally inducted into the Cardinals Hall of Fame presented by Edward Jones  in a special ceremony on Saturday, August 16th at 10:30 a.m. in FOX Sports Midwest Live! at Ballpark Village. Gates open at 9:30 a.m. Tickets are still available for this historic, first-time ceremony.


WHAT:                  2014 Cardinals Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, presented by Edward Jones

WHEN:                  Saturday, August 16, 2014 at 10:30 a.m. Doors open at 9:30 a.m.

WHO:                    2014 Inductees Willie McGee, Jim Edmonds and Mike Shannon; Martinna Dill on behalf of her late father, 2014 inductee Marty Marion; Cardinals Chairman Bill DeWitt Jr.; Cardinals President Bill DeWitt III; Cardinals and National Baseball Hall of Famers Ozzie Smith, Whitey Herzog, Red Schoendienst, Lou Brock, Bob Gibson and Tony La Russa; and Cardinals broadcaster Dan McLaughlin

WHERE:                FOX Sports Midwest Live! in Ballpark Village

Media should enter through the South doors on Clark Street (across from Busch Stadium Gate 5).

COVERAGE:         Media interested in covering the 2014 Hall of Fame Induction ceremony at Ballpark Village need to request a Cardinals credential by emailing Chris Tunno at no later than noon Friday.  August 16th game-day credentials will also be honored for this event (details on how to apply for game day credentials are available at Credentials may be picked up at 9:30 a.m. Saturday morning at a check-in table at the South entrance of Ballpark Village (Clark Street across from Busch Stadium Gate 5). The Cardinal Hall of Famers will be available for media interviews from 5:15 to 5:30 p.m. in the Press Dining Room of Busch Stadium. Media covering the press conference should enter through Aggie’s Lobby (Press/Media entrance) at Busch Stadium near Gate 2. Credentials used for the induction ceremony and/or the game will be accepted.

CONNECT:            @Cardinals  |  #CardsHOF  |  Fans can Instagram photos using #MyCardsHOF for the chance to win a Cardinals prize pack including a pair of tickets to the September 13th game, Cardinals Museum passes and Busch Stadium tour tickets. Official rules on 


Fans wishing to attend the morning induction ceremony may purchase an $18 general admission standing-room ticket at which includes a special Hall of Fame Induction Day issue of the Cardinals Magazine and a limited edition print of the 2014 inductees. 


The St. Louis Cardinals Hall of Fame Presented By Edward Jones

The St. Louis Cardinals Hall of Fame was established as a way to recognize the exceptional careers and significant achievements of the greatest players in Cardinals history, as well as those who have made exceptional contributions to the organization. Each member of the Cardinals Hall of Fame is permanently enshrined in the new Cardinals Hall of Fame Gallery presented by Edward Jones that is located on the second floor of Cardinals Nation in Ballpark Village, just outside the entrance to the team’s new museum. The Hall of Fame Gallery is free and open to the public. On Opening Day 2014, the Cardinals dedicated the Hall of Fame with an Inaugural Class, consisting of 22 Cardinals who are either enshrined in the National Baseball Hall of Fame as Cardinals or whose number has been retired by the club. The 2014 Induction Class is the first class to be inducted into the new Hall of Fame that was selected via a formal process which includes fans, a Red Ribbon Panel of baseball experts and the team.


Jim Edmonds (Modern Era Player – Fan Selection)

Jim Edmonds joined the Cardinals in 2000 and played eight seasons, making the postseason in six of those years and playing in two World Series, winning in 2006. The three-time All-Star won six consecutive Gold Gloves from 2000-05.  He ranks 4th on the Cardinals all-time home run list with 241 and hit the game-ending home run in the 11th inning of Game 6 of the 2004 NLCS.


Willie McGee (Modern Era Player – Fan Selection)

Willie McGee played in 13 seasons with the Cardinals, playing in 1661 games, 9th all-time in franchise history. He was a four-time All-Star, won three Gold Gloves and was the 1985 National League MVP with league leading marks of a .353 batting average, 18 triples and 216 hits, while stealing 56 bases. McGee played in three World Series, winning as a rookie in 1982 when he finished third in the Rookie of the Year voting. He is one of six players to steal over 300 bases with the Cardinals, swiping 301.


Mike Shannon (Team Selection)

Mike Shannon played all nine years of his career with the St. Louis Cardinals from 1962-70. He was a member of the World Championship clubs in 1964 and 1967 and National League champions of 1968, a year in which he was seventh in the NL MVP voting. Shannon hit three home runs in the World Series including his final post-season at bat in Game 7 of the 1968 World Series. He entered the broadcast booth in 1972 following his retirement as a player due to kidney disease. Mike has been an exceptional and extremely popular broadcaster for the Cardinals for 43 years.


Marty Marion (Veteran Era Player – Red Ribbon Panel Selection)

Marty Marion played 11 seasons with the Cardinals and was a seven-time all-star. Known as “Slats” or “The Octopus”, he was among the Top 10 in NL MVP voting three times, winning the award during the Cardinals 1944 World Championship season. Marion helped the Cardinals win World Championships in 1942, 1944 and 1946. He played in 23 World Series games and totaled 11 RBI and seven doubles, all among the Top 5 in Cardinals World Series records.


The Cardinals Hall of Fame Inaugural Class (Automatically In Upon Establishing the Hall of Fame)

Jim Bottomley, Ken Boyer, Lou Brock, Jack Buck, August A. “Gussie” Busch Jr., Dizzy Dean, Frank Frisch, Bob Gibson, Chick Hafey, Jesse Haines, Whitey Herzog, Rogers Hornsby, Tony La Russa, Joe Medwick, Johnny Mize, Stan Musial, Branch Rickey, Red Schoendienst, Enos Slaughter, Ozzie Smith, Billy Southworth and Bruce Sutter.


The 2014 Cardinals Hall of Fame Red Ribbon Panel of Cardinals Baseball Experts

Tom Ackerman,  Frank Cusumano,  Derrick Goold, Rick Hummel, Randy Karraker,  Martin Kilcoyne, Jenifer Langosch,  Tony La Russa, Bernie Miklasz, Joe Ostermeier, Rob Rains, Red Schoendienst, Joe Strauss and Brian Walton.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s