Ex-Cardinal Favorite Schumaker Retires

bbskippy

Today veteran utility player Skip Schumaker has retired from professional baseball. The decision comes one month after Schumaker, 36, signed a minor league deal with the Padres before going 0 for 8 in his spring training plate appearances this month.

“His career was lived with class and dignity,” Padres manager Andy Green said “He led by example and I have nothing but respect for him.”

Schumaker, who made his MLB debut with the Cardinals in 2005, spent eight seasons in St. Louis before playing one year with the Los Angeles Dodgers and two with the Cincinnati Reds.

For his career, Schumaker, a second baseman and outfielder, batted .278 with 28 home runs and 284 RBIs.

I always remember my son getting Skip’s autograph at a function. I would anything and everything and made sure he talked to the kids about baseball. When Gabe came up to hand him a picture to sign he told my son, “I can tell your a middle infielder!” Gabe smiled back at me and then told him thanks Mr. Schumaker. He then took a look at my son and gave him a fist pump. I sure do hope he might pop back up with the Cardinals as a coach or some other function.

Source: MLB

Leave a Reply

